Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 7:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:23 pm 

So I will admit right away that I'm not technical when it comes to airguns. I shoot them out of the box and wouldn't be comfortable taking anything apart other than the most basic of things.

That being said, I got my new HW45 from D&L. Unlike my last one (also from D&L last year) this one seems really dry right out of the box.

What I mean specifically is, when cocking the gun, it's not smooth. It's jerky. And once you cock it, you can move the top part of the gun back and forth and the "arm" slides back and forth, well it's very stiff. The last one I had was ultra smooth right out of the box. It got a bit better after a few shots, but I just don't want to risk any damage by grinding metal to metal without lube if I can avoid it.

So - what would you suggest? Leave it alone? Or put some oil/lube along the gap in the spring (exposed after cocking)? If so, what kind of oil?

Thanks guys

- For the challenge: Weihrauch HW45 Black Star Pistol (.22 cal)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:59 am