Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:57 pm 

Hi all. I am a newbie in airguns and very happy to join your community. After several months of pistol shooting I plan to buy my first rifle (the hobby evolved to an addiction :D ).
Please share your knowledge and experience with me. Never shot a rifle before. The short-listed candidates are hw50s and hw30s. I read a lot about those apparently very successful rifles.
HW50 Pros
powerful, well balanced, accurate, medium weight
HW50 Cons
(it seems) big cocking effort
HW30 Pros
light, accurate, fun to shoot
HW30 Cons
low power (well, that depends on intended use), small size (may not fit a medium to tall adult).

Regarding the galling issue, I got the following reply from the official (German) Weihrauch support team:

"The model HW 50 has a special locking lever. Here a synthetic part moves on the receiver tube.
So there is no problem.
On the HW 30 there is little contact metal to metal".

My intended use is casual target shooting and plinking (20-25 m. or 30 m. max, I guess).
I cannot try any of those as there is no local dealer. I will buy online.