Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 6:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Post subject: Looking for advice!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:48 pm 

I am new to the Air Rifle scene. I am currently using an old Crosman Phantom .22 that shoots 495FPS. I have been dispatching some of the smaller backyard pest with it so far.

Yes I have my hunting permits and Valid PAL/R-PAL.

I am looking to buy something a bit higher power to do the job as my shot drops about 4 to 6 inches at he 50 to 60 feet mark and just doesn't seem to do well when reaching out like that.

What would be a nice set up that is budget friendly that someone would recommend? I have looked at the Gamo Varmint that is rated to hit the 1250FPS level in the .177 available at Cabelas for about the $169 mark. Any info would be appreciated as I seem to be spending allot of time out in the backyard and feel that the new setup willse allot of rounds through it.

I look forward to hearing from you!!

Post subject: Re: Looking for advice!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:54 pm 

Tuned to around 12-14 fpe Phantom can be a formidable backyard pesting rifle.
You might want to add a scope and repower your Phantom.