Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Post subject: Total noob
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2022 4:20 pm 

Hello,
I went through 3 pages of posts and did not see anything noob so....

It is for a 14 year old, do they like guns? They like Fornite, fishing and being a vegetarian.
We live in a urban setting, a lot of green space but it is also populated will have to find a place to take it out to.
Non-lead pellets will be what they like.
Exploding caps are certainly better than hitting a can.

This is supposed to be fun and hassle free. I know nothing about this aside from firearms licenses are required if 500fps + energy from muzzle projectile. We certainly don't want hassles. We (at least I am) are very cautious.

So
1) We have a long backyard, maybe shooting on the property is not a good idea, they could shoot against a garage at 50 feet.
2) I have seen the Crossman 4-177 is that a good choice?
3) Is shooting BBs in this a good idea, I read it may screw up the rifling.

thanks....yes, total noob here : - )

Post subject: Re: Total noob
PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2022 4:24 pm 

Were are you from

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2022 5:04 pm