Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:04 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2023 2:05 pm 

I am a retiree from the tech sector. I have been retired for about five years and now have the time to play with some of my passions from years gone by. Three years ago, while cleaning out one of the buildings on our cottage land, my grandson found one of my old springers from the 70's and asked me if we could do some plinking with it. Sounded like a great idea until I realized the leather piston seal had dried up and was not repairable even after soaking in mineral oil.

Now I didn't want to discourage the grandson and he was leaving in a couple of days, so I wanted to come up with a quick piston seal solution. The only identifying model on the rifle was LG49 (made in Hungary). The compression chamber was measured to be 25 mm, which seems to be a common size. Thought about making a new leather seal but the weather was too nice, so I decided to take a ride into the local rural hardware store to see if we could find something that would work as a seal since I was not too concerned about ruining the old rifle.