Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:45 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Post subject: pellet grouping
PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2023 8:02 pm 

Hi
I am a newbie to this forum and a newbie in airgun practice. I bought a Gamo varmint 1200 FPS and the attached scope from Gamo. I recently purchased two types of pellets for targeting at 20 yards.
-HN field trophy 4.5 mm 8.64 gr
-diabolo baracuda 4.5 mm 10.65 gr

Initialy the scope was set for the HN field trophy. I have aimed at the center black target for both series of shots. The HN are grouping within the black circle while the 3 Diabolo shots are to the left of the black target closer to the orange left target. What would be the reason for such a a margin in precision when using the 2 types of ammo. is this normal or is there a problem with the airgun ? I have been using a shooting bench for both series of shots. Any comments fron experienced users. I am baffled my such a difference. Does this mean I have to recalibrate the scope each time I change pellet source and weight ???

Attachment:
IMG_20230408_152452.jpg
IMG_20230408_152452.jpg [ 100.5 KiB | Viewed 932 times ]

Post subject: Re: pellet grouping