Canadian Airgun Forum
https://www.airgunforum.ca/forums/

Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC
https://www.airgunforum.ca/forums/topic54851-15.html
Page 2 of 2

Author:  Adolfo [ Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

Thanks a lot, I found thi kit ready, for those who aren't really good with making USB adapters

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/538940 ... hronograph

Author:  Chewy [ Wed May 08, 2013 4:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

Ordered mine April 27 no communication from them as to if it shipped and questions have been unanswered. Buyer beware!!

Author:  idontknowjack [ Sun May 19, 2013 11:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

Just wanted to say thanks Dukemeister, this works great. Also wanted to point out that the jumper needs to be on the +5V side in order to power the chrony. Other than that minor glitch, I didn't let the smoke out.

Author:  STR8 Shot [ Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

Question for you tech-savvy gurus out there:

When connecting the converter for the first time, should Windows already have a driver for the device? I'm running Vista on my laptop, if that matters.

Author:  STR8 Shot [ Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

STR8 Shot wrote:
Question for you tech-savvy gurus out there:

When connecting the converter for the first time, should Windows already have a driver for the device? I'm running Vista on my laptop, if that matters.


I was able to find the appropriate driver for the PL2303 hardware so that the OS recognizes this as being a comm port.

The only other problem I run into is clicking on the Gun Make or Pellet Type buttons. The dialogue windows open but I immediately get a run time error and the program (ChronoConnect) shuts down. Am I the only one having this much trouble ?

Author:  STR8 Shot [ Sat Sep 07, 2013 12:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

STR8 Shot wrote:
STR8 Shot wrote:
Question for you tech-savvy gurus out there:

When connecting the converter for the first time, should Windows already have a driver for the device? I'm running Vista on my laptop, if that matters.


I was able to find the appropriate driver for the PL2303 hardware so that the OS recognizes this as being a comm port.

The only other problem I run into is clicking on the Gun Make or Pellet Type buttons. The dialogue windows open but I immediately get a run time error and the program (ChronoConnect) shuts down. Am I the only one having this much trouble ?


Alright, so I had a chance to speak with Andrew from ChronoConnect on this issue, great person to deal with by the way - very prompt in getting the bug sorted out. Apparently it is only an issue if PC is not connected to the Internet. Apparently version 1.5 supports offline use.

Author:  Handyguy [ Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

Got a tutorial for hooking up to a Mac?

Author:  tnato [ Wed Oct 26, 2016 4:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

Truly useful.
Thanks for posting.
:D

Author:  Talontsi96 [ Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

looks like the link for Chrono Connect is gone. Where can one get the software now days? If at all? If not, I guess this awesome writeup is outdated.

Author:  Canadianguy [ Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

I bought that same usb adapter off amazon and found an RCA cable for it. I actually bought the full version of the software. When I plugged mine into to my pc (Windows 7) it downloaded the driver.I thought everything was fine...pulled the software up and i selected what com to use. But it wouldn't recognize to read my shots at all. Then my Chrono showed weird symbols on the Chrono after I wiggled the plug a bit where it was connected to Chrono , thought it could be a bad connection, still nothing so I packed it in. Chrono still works fine but shocked me for a sec with the weird symbols come up. I tried diff varials of connecting usb cable to plug but nothing worked. So i canned the whole thing. I could have shorted something or even worse the pc but i didn't.....I think I will try and get the cable package on line.

I never had those black connector that goes to the usb like you have.

wondering if this is fine http://www.ebay.ca/itm/161891512751?_tr ... EBIDX%3AIT

Not sure

Thanks for the link!!

Greg

Author:  RC [ Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

Bumped... Great info. Thanks.

Author:  Kevin Loder [ Sat Dec 22, 2018 12:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tutorial, how to connect a Chrony to your PC

I have a Chrony F1 and used this cord

https://secure.sayal.com/STORE/View_SPE ... SKU=244899

(not sure if i pasted the link correctly)

The cord cost less than $10 and am running the demo program and working great. Thanks for sharing the info
Kevin

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/