Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 4:46 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:54 am 
Supporting Member

I've been shooting for only about 2 years, so I realize that I'm just a beginner, but I have learned some stuff. I've read a lot both here and on other sites, and I've tried countless ways of "getting it right" some of which worked rather well, and others that failed miserably.

I've modified everything from my artillery hold to my shooting position, to the guns themselves, adding and subtracting weights at the muzzle/butt etc. I finally pared it all down to a position and hold that work (with minor modifications) for all my guns which now have only minor amounts of weight added to the butt.

My favourite targets (other than targets) are lead discs that I've made. They're about 1-1/4" diameter and about 3/8" thick impaled on coat hanger wires about 12 to 18 inches long sticking up 25 meters from my shooting position. (Yes, I have a back stop.)

I was very happy with my accuracy (I could hit the discs edge on) and my consistency was improving, when my right eye began to give trouble.