Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours


The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

 

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.








Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 8:30 pm
Posts: 1184
Location: Eastern Townships
Don't have much free time these days, today however I did, so I wanted to try my new compressor. I put the pump in a bucket of water and plugged it, closed the valves and put the test plug on the output hose. I then plugged the compressor in the wall outlet, the water pump is working well, so I turned the main switch on, but all I got was a series of ''click, click''. Hmm, not good. This reminded me of something I saw a while ago, so I pulled the cover off and saw what could well be the culprit: these kind of motor need a device to help them to start, I don't know the exact name in english, let's call it a starter or condenser, well on the starter it's clearly printed ''250V'', so not the right one I guess... :(

I'm not an electrician though, so if someone can confirm that it definitely can't work, please chime in. Also, would it be necessary to re-wire the motor, or do anything else to make the motor run? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

If this post is innapropriate in this forum, please move it mods.


Attachments:
IMG_5790.JPG
IMG_5790.JPG [ 112.85 KiB | Viewed 494 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 7:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:49 pm
Posts: 1246
Location: Southern Ontario
Looks to be what's called a "start capacitor". Like all capacitors, they act as a kind of battery. The big difference is that once they are charged up, they release the stored energy all at once.
In this case, it gives the motor an extra jolt of electricity to start the motor turning.
Once charged, these will cause a MAJOR shock to you if not handled properly-be careful!
Google "start (or starter) capacitor" to get some more detail on how to test one- not sure if that your problem or not, but it's quite possible...

_________________
Air and springs and CO, too


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:17 pm
Posts: 1817
Location: Kingston, ON
I'm also not an electrician, but have electrocuted myself a few times trying :oops:
The 250V printed on the capacitor is just a max rating for it. Suspect your motor windings are rated for North American 120V 60Hz line current. Unless you bought it directly from China and ordered a 220V unit. Anyhow, I'm a bit surprised if you have to add a starting capacitor to an out of the box unit, so I suggest looking for something else that has tripped or is preventing the motor from turning.

_________________

Duke ))))----//----------==


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 10:26 pm
Posts: 324
Location: Any Town ONTARIO
The 250V printed on the capacitor is the max rating for it. I have seen these fail early on many motors . They are relatively inexpensive .I would change it . Look for friction first and make sure it is not over tight or seized. Good luck hope you get it going .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:52 am
Posts: 2947
Location: Caronport, Saskatchewan
Sorry to hear of the trouble. I see on one of the forums a guy had that problem with a Yong heng and he took the fan cover off and turned the motor with a wrench on the fan bolt and it started right up after that.
I had that same clicking on one I bought when I first tried it, and my memory is a little fuzzy, but I remember making sure the bleed screws were both open and trying it again and it starting up when I tried it the second time and not having any trouble after that.


Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk

_________________
Website: https://airgunarcheryfun.ca/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 8:30 pm
Posts: 1184
Location: Eastern Townships
wesb2007 wrote:
Sorry to hear of the trouble. I see on one of the forums a guy had that problem with a Yong heng and he took the fan cover off and turned the motor with a wrench on the fan bolt and it started right up after that.
I had that same clicking on one I bought when I first tried it, and my memory is a little fuzzy, but I remember making sure the bleed screws were both open and trying it again and it starting up when I tried it the second time and not having any trouble after that.


Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk


Thanks for the help guys! Did a little search on starter capacitors, and it may not be the issue. I investigated further and found that the main switch is the problem. There's no positive ''IN/OUT'' position, the toggle is loose. It won't stay either in the ''IN'' or ''OUT'' position. I gently un-snapped it from the cover and immediately saw a broken plastic housing. I removed the toggle and saw... pulverized internal components!!! OK, don't look further! :lol: I think I have one of those switch somewhere in my ''warehouse'', just need to find it, and then try it.

Wes, I hope you don't feel too bad dear fellow! :) This is to be expected I think, sometimes it just happens 8)


Attachments:
IMG_5791.JPG
IMG_5791.JPG [ 163.79 KiB | Viewed 422 times ]
IMG_5792.JPG
IMG_5792.JPG [ 159.21 KiB | Viewed 422 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 5:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:52 am
Posts: 2947
Location: Caronport, Saskatchewan
Oh no, yipes!
Not a good start, literally and figuratively. I'm sorry for the trouble. PM sent.


Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk

_________________
Website: https://airgunarcheryfun.ca/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 8:30 pm
Posts: 1184
Location: Eastern Townships
Well, good news! I found a correctly rated switch to replace the broken one, it even has a safety lock! Funny thing, I don't loose everything of the old switch, there were two small springs the exact same size as Crosman 13xx/22xx safety springs, you never have too much of those!

Two wires were soldered on the old switche's blade terminals, I unsoldered them and crimped good quality blade female terminals to plug on the new switch, instead of re-soldering. I had to lenghten the hole in the housing a bit, width was the same, that made a rather clean installation. Plugged all wires in the correct order, plugged the cord in the wall outlet, and put the switch to the ''ON'' position. Immediate start, with no hesitation :)

I stopped it after maybe a 3 second run, then setted up the waterpump and HPA filters, and did a test run with the test plug at the end of the filling hose. I runned it to 3000psi, stopped it with the switch, checked for strange smells or anything else, nothing I saw or felt. Re-started it at the 3000psi pressure and it again started with no hesitations, up to the max 4500psi pressure limit. Very satisfied with this first test :)

I'll start a thread in the review forum on the setup and first fill. Oh and I'll also soon start a thread in the mods and repair forum on the conversion of a Crosman 1077 CO2 rifle to HPA. I've tethered the rifle to a 850psi-regulated 48ci bottle using the adapter I made, so far no leaks at all, and after dry firing with no pellets 5 or 6 shots, still no leaks.

Enough said for now, issue solved :) 8)


Attachments:
IMG_5794.JPG
IMG_5794.JPG [ 140.07 KiB | Viewed 372 times ]
IMG_5796.JPG
IMG_5796.JPG [ 215.39 KiB | Viewed 372 times ]
IMG_5797.JPG
IMG_5797.JPG [ 150.97 KiB | Viewed 372 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:52 am
Posts: 2947
Location: Caronport, Saskatchewan
Wow, good job! Glad you got it going! I should have a spare one for you soon =)

Sent from my EML-L09 using Tapatalk

_________________
Website: https://airgunarcheryfun.ca/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group

phpBB SEO