Canadian Airgun Forum

The #1 Community for Airguns in Canada!
It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:38 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

The Canadian Airgun Forums are a place for people to discuss and learn about airguns and the airgunning sport in Canada. There are lots of discussions about airguns, airgun accessories, reviews, modification and repair information, airgun events, field target and free classifieds!

You need to register before you can post: click the register link to proceed. Before you register, please read the forum rules. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own pictures, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free! To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 05, 2019 4:02 am 

I am new to shooting and am looking for the right pellet for my air rifle.
I have a Crossman Silverfox .177 nitro piston break barrel that came with 4x32 scope.
I am shooting paper targets at 12 meters and can't seem to get constant groups.

I shoot from in my garage standing in a comfortable position using a stable tabletop with sandbag as rest (sandbag allows recoil action to be free from what I've read, instead of holding firm like a center fire rifle). The butt is just resting against my shoulder, not too tight so it can freely move with recoil.

I take 5 group shots, with 4 different pellets, and no consistency results.
So far I've tested:
-Stoeger X-Match Supreme Accuracy Match Field Target Pellets- .177 cal / 8.18gr
-JSB diabolo exact .177 cal / 8.44gr
-Crosman destroyer .177 / 7.4gr
-don’t know name of 4th pellet as label on tin can is missing

I’m thinking maybe the pellet is the issue and that I need to find the right one for my gun.
I’ve read dome type 10+gr might be a good start? Maybe H&N FT 14.6gr ?